Item added to your cart.

The Soft Cavalry
The Soft Cavalry
Bella Union
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 5, 2019

For Steve Clarke, The Soft Cavalry’s self-titled debut album is equally a labour of love, and the first record he’s masterminded from start to finish, with invaluable contributions from his wife, Slowdive’s Rachel Goswell, on co-vocals and spiritual / practical guidance, and Steve’s brother Michael, who produced the record. The band’s music is a particularly British brand of intense cinematic drama. Melodic and timeless, the album lands in the atmospheric dimensions between Pink Floyd, Talk Talk and Mansun. A record radiating midlife crisis but equally enormous elation; a helix of fear and hope, aching for resolution. A record Steve emphasises that he “needed” to make. The Soft Cavalry is also that rarity: a musical project that began life on an industrial site in Reading. Additionally, the album is a way of rewriting a man’s narrative, and proof that relative late bloomers (Steve was in his late thirties when he made the album) can make the record of their dreams.

This Music Made Me: The Soft Cavalry – Rachel Goswell and Steve Clarke’s most influential music

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Dive 4:15 Buy
  2. 2 Bulletproof 4:27 Buy
  3. 3 Passerby 4:14 Buy
  4. 4 The Velvet Fog 4:11 Buy
  5. 5 Never Be Without You 4:07 Buy
  6. 6 Only In Dreams 4:19 Buy
  7. 7 Careless Sun 3:19 Buy
  8. 8 Spiders 5:30 Buy
  9. 9 The Light That Shines On Everyone 4:00 Buy
  10. 10 Home 6:10 Buy
  11. 11 Mountains 4:51 Buy
  12. 12 The Ever Turning Wheel 6:58 Buy

The Soft Cavalry

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences